Why Alton Sterling’s Death Has Motivated Me and Why it Should Do the Same for You

So, it’s been a while! I haven’t posted anything in months. I’ve been writing, but nothing that has been post-able, ya know? Crazy thing is, these last few months have been amazing. Not just regular amazing though, far better.

Anyway, I’m super motivated tonight. I don’t know what did it, but I’m glad it happened! It could be that I’ve been listening to some of my closest girlfriends go through boyfriend issues. It’s something about when men do crappy things that makes you want to channel that anger into bettering yourself. Just an additional way to say “boy bye.” That sparked an idea for a project.

Then, I’m talking to one of my best friends and we’re texting about our next trip in September. This will be an amazing one. I’ve always wanted to go to this destination and I just may not come back. This conversation with her then sparked my second idea.

If I’m motivated, I want you all to be too, and for very good reason. If you have an idea, write it down! After that, figure out a plan to accomplish it. And don’t just stop there. Actually accomplish it! Just think about how great it feels to accomplish a goal that you’ve had for so long. You are dope! If you don’t know that, I know it. Push yourself. I know you wrote down a plan or a goal recently. Have you made moves to get it done?

Here’s why we all should be stimulated to do better.

Do you know how powerful we could be if we all just get inspired? I went to bed last night (early this morning actually) reading about a man who was murdered on camera by police. What was he doing you ask? As if he needed to be doing anything at all. Did I mention he was a black man. Yep. He was selling CDs outside of a store in Baton Rouge. So essentially, he was the cool CD man that you use to (or probably still do) grab the latest CD or bootleg DVD that you didn’t want to spend the money on to see in theater. We all know the CD man. Usually they are there trying to earn extra money, never to harm anyone. I just described 37-year-old Alton Sterling. Police shot him like he was an animal. Actually, animals are well-loved, so I’m sure they would have never shot an animal that way.

It’s sad the way they view black men. It’s sad that they are feared. Only because for years and  years black men have shown that they are clever and resilient .’Our’ history has taught us that our black ancestors were always so much smarter than those trying to oppress them. Black people, men especially, have always intimated them. Sterling was probably just out there trying to make extra money for his family, a family that he would never see again. We always make a way. Sterling was out there, making a way. He was out selling CDs with permission from the store’s owner. They hate that. That fact alone intimated those officers. Now there are more children out here with no father. Thanks for that, police officers (hired to protect and serve, by the way).

It’s obvious the world we live in is inhumane. Black men are being slaughtered left and right and the eyes of the world are just turning the other cheek. The topic is cared about for a little while. Sure, it’s all in the media for a second, that is until Donald Trump does or says something stupid and all focus shifts to him. It’s clear, something has to be done. I’m not exactly sure what that something is though (besides the obvious, police need to stop killing our men). However, I know that if we all become amped to live out our dreams, someone will figure out the answer. We need to use our gifts to start shedding light to some of these issues. It doesn’t matter what your passion is. Sure, I know we get tired from going into a job that most of us hate anyway. However, find time to work at your craft. That’s the only way to keep your passion strong. Don’t quit on yourself. It’s not going to be easy. Don’t get lazy. And if you happen to fall into a rut, get out of it. In fact, if you’re in a rut right now (like me) get out of it! Start working at whatever it is you want to do. You never know how your craft could change this world.

 

 

 

One comment

  1. akiwigirlabroad · July 7, 2016

    🙌🏼

    Like

Leave a Reply

